Corus 2008

Corus 2008

NED The start of the new year can only mean one thing: the first major of the season due to start soon in Wijk aan Zee, the Netherlands!

Corus, Wijk aan Zee has long eclipsed Hastings in all but being the world’s longest-running tournament. The jubilee 70th-year edition of this annual Dutch treat runs 11-27 January with an elite field of 14 – including eight of the world’s top ten - doing battle in the top-rated Grandmaster ‘A’ group.

The Grandmaster ‘A’ lineup (in rating order from the October list) includes: 1. Vishy Anand (India), 2. Vassily Ivanchuk (Ukraine), 3. Vladimir Kramnik (Russia), 4. Veselin Topalov (Bulgaria), 5. Peter Leko (Hungary), 6. Shakhriyar Mamedyarov (Azerbaijan), 7. Teimour Radjabov (Azerbaijan), 8. Levon Aronian (Armenia), 9. Boris Gelfand (Israel), 10. Michael Adams (England), 11. Magnus Carlsen (Norway), 12. Judit Polgar (Hungary), 13. Pavel Eljanov (Ukraine), 14. Loek Van Wely (Holland).

And if that’s not enough to whet your appetite, there’s also an amazing sideshow of Grandmaster ‘B’ and ‘C’ groups, and the new edition this year of a ‘veterans tournament’ of previous ‘A’ group winners, featuring Viktor Korchnoi, Jan Timman, Ljubomir Ljubojevic and Lajos Portisch.

ICC will have live coverage throughout, with the Chess.FM team back in action to cover the first major of the year. Mig Greengard will hosting our daily coverage, and he'll be joined by top GMs like Larry Christiansen, Joel Benjamin & Jon Speelman, who will be providing all the expert analysis and commentary throughout along with a daily Game of the Day. Macauley Peterson will also be reporting live directly from the press room at Wijjk aan Zee, and he'll again be sending us video coverage throughout.

More information